6 December

Monday 6 December 2004

We went to see Dr. Zahn today for my final visit before we get to go home. I really cannot stress enough how much I love this doctor. He calls me by a nickname only family calls me, which normally would bother me but is somehow really comforting. He gave me a clean bill of health and sent me on my way. I am supposed to go back on 17 January, just for a checkup.

I keep having dreams where I am eating all manner of things I should not be eating: drinking huge cups of Diet Coke, cinnamon rolls, sticky buns, cake. In my dream I know I should not be eating these things, and I don��t make a conscious choice to do it, I just find myself doing it: the Diet Coke is half empty; the cake is half eaten. It��s very odd.

I am doing really well here in real life, though. Apart from the first few days, I don��t have that feeling a lot of post-op patients do, that this is the worst mistake I��ve ever made. Honestly, I actually feel pretty good about it. I am down 6 pounds from my pre-op weight, which is nice. My wedding ring is fitting really well. I am still really swollen from surgery and my incision itches like crazy, but other than some minor annoyances, I think this was a great choice. I imagine the full liquid phase is going to get really boring really soon, but I am looking forward to all the things I can eat on the puree phase, which begins (drum roll please) 22 December. I am going to have eggs with cheese for breakfast and chicken salad for lunch, in minute quantities of course. It sounds like a feast.

Today I��ve had some cream of chicken soup, pudding, and CoCo Wheats. And water, lots and lots of water, and of course my protein shakes. I think I may actually have been hungry this morning, too. Not the belly growling kind but the ��Hmm, I think I��d like to have a small amount of food�� kind of hungry.

It��s all very odd, this not wanting to eat. I could get used to it.

I had to take a late nap, though. My incision was burning, on the right side just above the bellybutton. It wasn��t anything muscle related it was just the skin. I think the nerves are just over stimulated; every time I touched it, even slightly, it was like it was on fire. I had to take some Lortab and sleep it off. I hate taking the narcotic, but Dr. Zahn gently reminded me that I just had MAJOR surgery and that using pain medication does not mean I��m weak or somehow addicted. I know that, I just need a little kick in the ass sometimes.

Have I mentioned how much I love my doctor?

We are going home tomorrow, yeah! ��

ciao - 08 July 2005
Give Us Candor - 29 June 2005
Not even Johnny Depp is better than sleep - 26 June 2005
breathe - 25 June 2005
the joy of pepsi... or something - 22 June 2005

Before and After

current entry // past entries // profile // notes // sign // photo // design // host

6 December from 08 December 2004 @ 5:17 p.m.