Well I finally got to meet Dr. Zahn.

I had my initial consult with him on 29 July, in Phoenix. The day started badly with my alarm clock not going off. Luckily, I listened to my husband (for once) and set the television as a back up. It went off at 5:00 am, which is when I had planned to leave.

I got out the door at 5:20, which was two full hours before my flight. However, traffic was a bitch. I ended up getting off the interstate and flying down a back road all the way to the airport. I checked in with only 40 minutes before my flight. Thank goodness I wasn't checking luggage, or I'd have missed it for sure.

I ended up getting to the doctor's office at 9:00 am, and I got into the exam room at 9:30. Nikki, the office gal (not sure of her title) was helpful and asked me a ton of questions. Then the PA came in and did an exam. Then, and only then did I meet Dr. Zahn.

He really put me at ease the minute he walked in, which was stunning considering I still had on a paper gown. He introduced himself and shook my hand. He has a way of looking directly at you, which makes me a bit nervous but he was really personable and warm. He said my BMI put me in the range of needing the surgery but it wasn't so high as to put me at a higher risk of complications. I told him about my problem with morphine (stopped my breathing) and he recommended I go to get a sleep study done to see if I have apnea. I don't think I do, husband says I don't snore but one of my sisters thinks I might. At any rate, I'll get the study done ASAP.

Nikki said I should be approved with no problems, which is great. I should have a surgery date by the end of next week, which would be wonderful. I'd love to have a date instead of this open ended thing.

All in all, I was very impressed with Dr. Zahn. He seems very comfortable with doing the procedure on me, he didn't seem to think my belly flab was a problem, he said it's really only in people who are 500, 600 pounds that the belly fat can be a real hindrance and he said, "You've got a lot on board but not like that." :)

Updating as soon as I have a date!

ciao - 08 July 2005
Give Us Candor - 29 June 2005
Not even Johnny Depp is better than sleep - 26 June 2005
breathe - 25 June 2005
the joy of pepsi... or something - 22 June 2005

Before and After

current entry // past entries // profile // notes // sign // photo // design // host

first consult with Dr. Zahn from 01 August 2004 @ 9:36 p.m.